top of page

Raid 5 to 10

RAID 5, 6 and 10

RAID 5 is block-level striping with distributed parity that allocates parity with the data and needs all the HDDs but one to be present to operate. In this configuration, the array is not destroyed by a single drive failure. When an HDD fails any successive reads can be calculated from the distributed parity, so, the HDD failure is masked from the end-user. RAID 5 requires at least three disks and is often and is reliable a good system to use because if an HDD fails your data is safe on the other HDDs.

Also, if you replace the failed HDD with a new HDD it will automatically take over the function of the failed HDD.

RAID 5.jpg

RAID 6 is block-level striping with double distributed parity that provides fault tolerance up to two failed HDDs. This makes larger RAID groups more practical, particularly for high-end systems. These days this is increasingly significant as large capacity HDDs prolong the time needed to recover from a single HDD failure.

Similar to RAID 5, a single HDD failure results in reduced performance of the total array until the failed HDD has been replaced and the data has been rebuilt.

RAID 10, sometimes mentioned as RAID 1+0 mirroring and striping occurs. Data is written in stripes across primary disks that have been mirrored to the secondary disks.

This is the best RAID system, one I have used for a long time.

RAID 10.jpg
bottom of page